Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
Miss Prickly is around 18-20 months old. I got her from a shady pet store as a sort of 'rescue', so I have no idea her genetic background. She eats a mix of blue buffalo and before grain cat food. I have her in a large plastic cage with a ceramic heat emitter (she stays between 75-80, she seems to do best closer to 80), is litter trained, and does constant aerobic workouts on her wheel to keep her slender figure :)

As I went to leave for school this morning, my girlfriend got my attention and told me there was something wrong with Prickles (Ms. Prickly). I hadn't thought much of it when I went to leave because she was running in her wheel only 5 minutes before. I came in and she was laying on her side with her feet out, alert, not seeming to be in pain, and just laying there not trying to get up. I instantly thought wobbly hedgehog syndrome, so I took her in to the vet.

My vet is worried and said "this doesn't look good" and tried looking in her ears for any sign of an inner ear infection. She was able to get a slight smear, but not a good one since Prickles wouldn't let her get to her ears without a fight. She saw a few bacterial cells and a few yeast cells and prescribed tresaderm ear drops to hope for an improvement. With these ab, if she has a hole in her eardrum we'll be able to tell within 2 days or so (is it sad I'm hoping for that?)? She also prescribed prednisone but I'm always leary of steroids, so I don't know that I'll administer that right away.

She walks around fine for the most part if you start her off. She has problems getting up if she falls over and if she's leaning against something and falls, she has a hard time getting up. She's also dragging her rear left leg. She said an x-ray with their standard technology wouldn't show much and she couldn't feel any breaks. Once she starts moving, she's trucking around and off to the races.