Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I noticed the other day that there is a spot above my hedgehog's right ear, it looks a little pink, possibly swollen/irritated. This is the first time I've seen it and I noticed it right away.

I haven't changed anything/done anything different, so should I wait and see if it goes away? Apply something? Go to the vet? Or any other ideas please?

Thanks.

·
Registered
5,914 Posts
The members of this site are great and will have the answer to your question but IMO even though HHC is the greatest hedgehog site it will never replace/equal a good VET.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thats fine, I'm not trying to replace a vet. I'm new to hedgehogs so I'm curious if it might be something common, or maybe not. I don't want to run to a vet all the time I have a problem :/

·
Registered
172 Posts
First off, where did you get your hedgehog? Store or breeder?
Second, what kind of background do you know about your hedgehog? Like for example it commonly fought with its brother/sister when it was young?
Third how old is your hedgehog?
Forth has your hedgehog been in pain because of it, or it just doesn't look very nice?
Sorry if I am asking so many questions.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
No worries!

I bought it from a store (actually my girlfriend bought it for me, I was there though)
Its around 8 months old.
I do not know its background, it was in a tank with another hedgehog, and as far as I know, they weren't fighting.
I did touch it, and it didn't flinch or react as if it was in pain. It was just something new I noticed, and I was just being pre-emptive before it potentially go serious.

Its an African Pygmy Hedgie, it has corncob bedding, its cage is plastic bottom/wire top cage. It has a heater on oneside to keep the temp up.
I feed it 'Hedgehog Food', and he has a water bottle.

Anything else I should provide?

·
Administrator
8,486 Posts