Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone.

Well im new to this and new to hedgies.

I've been reading the forums on here for the past 2 days and the advice is brilliant, also i've been looking at the photos of cage setups etc and they're so helpful.

I live in the UK and were getting out lil hedgie (our 1st one) in 2 days. We cannot wait. He looks super cute and we're going to call him Turbo.

We have bought his cage which is a guinea pig one so its big enough and its not wired all the way up so he cant climb. we have a cosy bed with a snuggle sack in, a fleece on the bottom of the cage, lots of little toys, a litter tray, a lil bowl for food and a bottle for drinking water.

I've been doing so much reading in preparation for the lil guy just so i know what food is right for him and what environment is right, we also bought a thermometer for his room which can also go in his bath so we know the temp is right.

We've bought a lil travel cage for when we pick him up.

All i wanted to know was there any advice that people can give us for when we first bring him home. We know to leave him alone for a day or two so that he can familiarise himself with his new surroundings and then to play with him daily after that. We have put a tshirt of ours in there aswel so he has our scent ready for him to get used to.

Can we bath him within the first week or is this not a good idea with him being so young and new to everything, or is it a good idea because it gets him used to having baths early on?

and any other pointers to look out for??? food wise, appetite wise? :D

I just want to be completely prepared for him when he arrives home and to be able to be preapared for perhaps how they are in their first few days?

i cant wait :)

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi there :)

Yes we have a wheel for him, one for in his cage, its tomorrow we get him now and im beyond excited.