Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
This is my first time using a forum EVER, so please be patient! I've tried searching around here, but haven't found help for what I'm looking for...

I got Loretta a really nice cage, but we're just not loving it :0( I think a vivarium is the way to go, but every site I've found is in the UK! Does anyone know of custom vivs made/sold in the US??

I'm looking for something like this, i love the second story idea for more room and discovery for her! https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.345079955594929.1073741829.345074595595465&type=3
(if that link doesn't work, it's to the Geeky Hog Facebook page)

Thanks everyone!

· Premium Member
12,071 Posts
Sorry you haven't gotten an answer yet!

It is probably pretty difficult to find anything regarding vivs in the US...they're much more popular in the UK. My best suggestion would be to check out some reptile forums - they tend to be popular cage choices for them too. Either snakes or lizards (like bearded dragons) forums might be a good place to ask on. If you can't find anything, perhaps you could check around locally to find any woodworkers or something like that that might be willing to make something if you can show them pictures & explain what you want?

· Registered
1,924 Posts
If you end up going for a custom-made by someone who is trying it out for the first time, maybe ask around on the more UK-centric hedgehog forum for tips/tricks/cautions?

My entirely-based-on-extrapolation guesses:

From reading about shavings, I'd say no cedar wood (apparently the oils are irritating to hedgehogs). I don't remember what they say about pine and aspen, but one of them is recommended for shavings?

You'd want to be careful about mites -- again, whatever they say to try to prep shavings to deter mites (baking??) might work?