Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Disclaimer: This is no longer an issue for Hodge (happened in the Spring) and I am not a doctor. Just would like to inform others so they don't panic like I did. Oh yea, forgive the dramatics too.

Act 1: Panic! & Symptoms
Hodge was happily eating and running on his wheel one moment, but returning to his cage a half hour later, it appeared as though he was murdered. The blood spread from his wheel, and with his scampering, all over his cage, and finally to his bed. I found him inside the back of his bed shaking. He appeared to have thrown up a bluish green mucus (bile, I'm assuming). There was no evidence of a cut from the wheel on his feet. When I picked him up he acted normal. When I put him down on the bedroom floor, a bloody red spot appeared again while he shook. "He is bleeding from his penis!" I yelled to my friend over the phone in panic.

Act 2: ER
After a few calls, we travelled to a local ER clinic who would look at a hedgehog at 9pm. At the ER, he hacked a few times with the bluish bile. Then, the doctor took him in and did the following:
  • 0.01 Torbugesic 10mg/ml
  • Ultrasound Guided Cystocentesis
  • Urinalysis
  • 0.01 Metacam 5mg/ml
  • Subcutaneous Gluids
  • 0.02 Baytril 100 mg/ml IM (compounded)
All that means is that they sedated him, did an ultrasound to find his bladder to extract a urine sample, tested it, gave him an IV of sorts, pain killer, and antibiotic.

Act 3: Aftercare
$325 later, Hodge came home with me just to head out on a road trip the following day. I was sent home with about a week's worth of liquid antibiotics, and 3 days worth of liquid pain killers so he could enjoy the wheel without worrying. They would be administered with a syringe. After the night of the UTI attack, he rested well and continued his exercises and eating the following evening (although without his usual rigor).

Epilogue