Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been trying to get a good variety of dried cat foods that are on reapers list, but living in England means im having trouble finding alot of the brands.

Henry is currently eating Purina One Natural blends chicken but i want to add a couple more.

Would introducing Royal canin adult fit 32 & then another one of either the Royal Canin or Purina be adequate?

If anyone knows of any brands that are available over here that are good i would love to know as im not very good at understanding all the ingredients list etc.

thanks.

·
Premium Member
11,963 Posts
The main things you want to watch out for on percentages is for protein to be between 28-32%, fat should be below 15%, fiber shouldn't pose too much of a problem as most cat food is too low in fiber for hedgehogs anyway. You can fix that by adding Grape Nuts cereal or infant rice cereal to your hedgehog's food.
For ingredients, you want to make sure that there is no BHA or BHT or ethoxyquin, which are all artificial preservatives that are suspected to cause lots of problems in animals. You want at least one meat or meat meal in the first five ingredients, preferably as the first ingredient. Someone else has mentioned that dried brewer's yeast might not be a good thing to have in food, since it's what's left over after brewing beer.

The only thing I saw wrong in Royal canin adult fit 32 was that it did have dried brewer's yeast in it, but everything else is fine, so I'm not sure.

·
Premium Member
11,963 Posts
If you can tell me what pet stores you have near you, I can search the cat foods they sell and see if there's anything good. :)

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you so much! :D

I've been looking up the brand James Wellbeloved because its meant to be all natural, but the main ingredient seemed to be rice?!

The main shop here is pets at home.