Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I'm totally new to all of this, but I'm getting to be pretty discouraged and thought I'd give it a shot.

I got my hedgehog, Harley, about a month ago and I've held her pretty much everyday since. No matter how much I handle her, she just seems to get more mean. I'm pretty sure I haven't done anything wrong. Some days she comes out and walks around, but she's usually trying to burrow or just get away from me and back into her cage. Can I make her friendlier? If I can, how?

She doesn't seem to be quilling yet, and her skin isn't dry at all. As far as I know, she's perfectly healthy.

I'll try anything at this point. I really want her to not be so scared all of the time. She doesn't really come out of her igloo much except at night, which I know is normal. Any advice would be appreciated!

·
Registered
113 Posts
Sometimes this is more about *timing* than having a truly grumpy hedgie. If I take out Webster in the evenings (after he's come out and run on his wheel a bit and eaten) his behavior is COMPLETELY different than if I try to wake him up during the day. During the day he's a HUGE grump, all he does is huff and hiss, and often stays in a tight fully quilled ball, but in the evenings, once he's woken up on his terms, he's a much friendlier and much more curious hedgie - he's happy to climb all over me and explore, but more importantly he's much more relaxed and doesn't put his quills up as much (he does still try to ball up sometimes when I pick him up, but quickly relaxes in my hands or lap, which he won't do during the day, he'll just stay balled up and fully quilled out, with nonstop hissing and huffing).