Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought this little boy and the breeder told me he was a hooded apricot. I didn't know there was such a thing as a hooded hedgie? His color also seems very pale to me to be an apricot. The color truly does stop at his shoulders much the same as a hooded rat. The rest of his body is white and not banded. He's very shy with an attitude so picture taking was difficult but if you need more pics I can try again later. I didn't want to stress him out too much. If anyone has any ideas on his color or pattern I'd appreciate some identification. By the way, if there is a better way to add pics please let me know. I am new to this. Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
5,136 Posts
He is cute! The marking is called pinto, and can be anywhere on the body- in this case he apparently looked "hooded" like a rat to the breeder (who should have known anyways, but oh well).

I'd say he's Algerian Apricot (or Champagne) Pinto. I'm not as good with lighter colors though so you might want to wait for a second opinion.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. I was leaning more towards an algerian champange pinto but would welcome more opinions. I have his brother as well and his markings are more definitely pinto-like although he is a much darker color with a brown mask. The guy I got him from knows virtually nothing about hedgehogs and is just a hobby breeder. He shouldn't be breeding at all but I couldn't pass up these beautiful babies.

·
Registered
141 Posts
What a gorgeous hedgie! He has beautiful markings. I don't think that "hooded" is technically a color marking, but that's exactly what it looks like he has. Maybe the breeder comes from more of a rat background? lol. Have fun with him! <3

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·