Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the whole hedgehog thing but I am sure loving it!!! :-D I have a few questions about toys though.

1. What do most hedgehogs like to play with? I've heard of toilet paper tubes but my little guy won't go near his! He also has a little cat ball with a bell and several small stuffed animals that he also refuses to touch. So any other ideas of toys to put in his cage?

2. How many toys should I put in his cage? I wan't to make sure that I don't crowd it up too much...but he does have a pretty large cage (about 9 sq. ft.)

3. Are there any toys that I could use to play WITH my hedgehog, not just watch him play?

4. What toys are not hedgehog safe? I want to steer clear from anything that might potentially hurt my hedgie.

Thanks so much!

·
Registered
34 Posts
Hi! I'm new to hedgies too, but to what I read up on they cannot have anything that can get their little toes or nose stuck in. I have cat jingly balls and a toilet paper tube (that I cut a slit through so she don't get stuck) in my hedgies cage, but I'm not sure if she plays with them. Sometimes they are moved from where I left them but I never hear her play with them. But I'd just keep maybe a few toys in there but don't overload the cage with them. Instead I'd add more tunnels and such things. Maybe even a big pile of bedding. My hedgie don't even use her little hut. Only her huge mound of eco bedding :p. Anyways, good luck! Hope someone more experienced than me can go more in depth. :)

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
695 Posts
Others may or may not agree...but I'm overly cautious and would be particular about what I would leave in the cage vs what I would let hedgie play with while supervised.