Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, my boyfriend bought me a Hedgehog as an early birthday present, I got her January 8th. She's an Albino, sweetest thing ever, she bites a lot though. We got her from someone who was "allergic to Hedgehogs" but a few weeks later, I noticed a drastic change in her behavior. She was biting really hard, didn't want to be bothered, was awake during the day, having random bursts of energy. I spoke to someone about all the things that were going on, and he explained that Snow(my hedgehogs name) was pregnant.

Last Wednesday, she gave birth to three babies. It's her first batch of babies, because her previous owner had her since she was weaned, but he also had another hedgehog. He might've put them together one day and didn't supervise them at all. And so this is my first time dealing with a female Hedgie and her babies. Snow had three babies and has done really really well so far. When I'm around her cage, she'll come out and sniff and make squeaky sounds while she sniffs and let me peek at her babies. But the moment my boyfriend comes around, she will hiss. She will only hiss when he''s directly up to the cage(They haven't bonded at all since I got her, so he's a stranger to her).

This is really scary, but the other day, Snow moved her babies UNDER the fleece liner. Stupid me I should have put carefresh in her igloo, and I heard cracking sounds and licking sounds and squeaking from the babies. I thought Snow was eating her babies, I was terrified and immediately looked under the fleece blanket, Snow hissed once then came out to sniff then went back to her babies. I ended up finding out it was just the babies licking the coroplast and Snow cleaning them. so I gave Snow a few mealworms and left her alone after that.