Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I'm a recent and first-time hedgie owner. I got him this past Saturday (Jan 9th) from a breeder. His name is Spike Jones and he's a reverse pinto...he's white with 3 big black spots.

Currently, he's in a big sterlite container with a screen top lid that is partially covered in tin foil to insulate the heat from his ceramic heat emitter. My house is under 70deg, so only his cage is heated. He's also in a room to himself with a big window. The breeder had told me he only needs 8hrs of light, so he hasn't been given any artificial light or anything, but I read here he needs 12hrs.

I'm a little paranoid about his wellbeing since I am a new hedgie mom and I've never had a small animal as a pet, so forgive me for repeating questions or asking complete newbie questions:

-He hasn't been very active before midnight (i go to bed at midnight so maybe he gets up then?) I'm not sure if he's been "sleeping in late" or if something else is wrong. Usually I come home from work (~6pm), feed him, clean his cage, hold him, etc and put him back. I come to check on him and he's in his hut curled up in a ball and sometimes he looks like he's sleeping. Is this normal? I know he just came home, so I don't know if he's still adjusting to his surroundings, not getting enough light or just feeling sleepy. When I get up in the morning, I check his cage to see if he's been out. His toys have been moved around and he does have droppings on his wheel.

-When he doesn't finish his food from his previous meal (he eats dry food) is it okay to leave it in there or the next meal? Will it go stale? I don't want to leave food he won't eat in there.