Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Caveat reader: I'm a newbie. I'm just tossing ideas, don't take this as a recommendation of any sort. I'm asking for opinions and not advocating for the use of a particular setting.

I've been thinking about the quality of air in Piquete's tank (new pics!). Many pointed that air quality isn't the best in such an enclosed setting, so I started thinking about some physics.

First of all: the upper opening is huge.

Second: gas concentrations don't vary too much in an unrestricted setting like that. The difference in oxygen concentration vs the surrounding space should be negligible.

Third: this only applies if you use a "spot" heater such as a lizard pad (me), a snuggle safe disc or anything similar. Hot air rises. Convection causes cooler air to be "sucked into" the tank, to refill the empty space left by the now gone hot air. This effectively creates a draft that renews the air always sucking "new" air form outside.

Now the fun part: am I crazy? Are objections to tanks a matter of tradition or there's more to it that the -seemingly unaffected- ventilation?

I'd love to know what you think.

Best,
Andres

PS: Pic!
[attachment=0:2qjr3ut0]IMG_02822.jpg[/attachment:2qjr3ut0]

Attachments

·
Registered
65 Posts
Sorry this is going to be long...

1. An issue with tanks is that they do tend to retain odor which is kind of gross, but if you are willing to go the extra mile to clean it everyday to prevent any type of bacteria from breeding, then you shouldn't have an issue with it affecting your hedgie's health.

2. Your thoughts on
Convection causes cooler air to be "sucked into" the tank, to refill the empty space left by the now gone hot air. This effectively creates a draft that renews the air always sucking "new" air form outside.