Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I might be getting a hedgehog soon, and I was debating between getting a baby and rescuing one. This is my first time to have a hedgehog, and I heard that for first time owners it's better to get a baby. I was thinking of getting a rescue since I'll most likely have the hedgie through some of college, and it would be more convenient to get a rescue, plus it would give it a good home. But, If it's better to get a baby hedgie for a first time owner, I think I probably could work out a way to keep it through college. Is it better for me to get a baby or a rescue? Thanks! :)

·
Registered
26 Posts
I would personally say it's probably better to get a baby. Many rescues come with "issues" and need a lot of time and patience to work with. They may have health issues and social issues that must be dealt with by an experienced hedgie owner.

Babies, still take a lot of time and may have health issues, but it's far less likely. You also get to help devleop their personalities out a bit more.

Neither choice is easy because Hedgies have to have socializing and play time. Please consider that on average they live 7 years. If you are going away for college, will your parents be willing to take care of any hedgehog you may have. When you are in college taking care of an animal is even harder and if you are living on campus most do not allow any pets.

·
Registered
764 Posts
mkmanuel said:
I would personally say it's probably better to get a baby. Many rescues come with "issues" and need a lot of time and patience to work with. They may have health issues and social issues that must be dealt with by an experienced hedgie owner.

Babies, still take a lot of time and may have health issues, but it's far less likely. You also get to help devleop their personalities out a bit more.