Hedgehog Central banner

Quilling bonding tips- grumpy toddler stage

1K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  HaineTheHedgie 
#1 ·
Hi, I have an adorable 3 month old hedgehog, Komaki, who I've had for about 5 weeks now. The first 2-3 weeks were great. She was super sweet and loved cuddling and being held. But ever since she started quilling a couple weeks ago she refuses to be held and has gotten very huffy and nippy. She even drew blood on my boyfriend when he tried to hold her.

I usually would hold her in a bonding pouch, but lately she just bites and scratches at it to be let out and I don't want her to be stressed or hurt herself so I just put her back.

I'm assuming the sudden behavioral change is due to the quilling, but that's all I know. I got my last hedgehog as an adult so this is my first time dealing with it. How do I keep bonding with her without stressing her out or getting bit? When she's done quilling will it get easier again? I just miss my cuddly baby...

#4 ·
Hi, I have an adorable 3 month old hedgehog, Komaki, who I've had for about 5 weeks now. The first 2-3 weeks were great. She was super sweet and loved cuddling and being held. But ever since she started quilling a couple weeks ago she refuses to be held and has gotten very huffy and nippy. She even drew blood on my boyfriend when he tried to hold her.

I usually would hold her in a bonding pouch, but lately she just bites and scratches at it to be let out and I don't want her to be stressed or hurt herself so I just put her back.

I'm assuming the sudden behavioral change is due to the quilling, but that's all I know. I got my last hedgehog as an adult so this is my first time dealing with it. How do I keep bonding with her without stressing her out or getting bit? When she's done quilling will it get easier again? I just miss my cuddly baby...