Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there!
So I'm a student at university who is very keen to get a Pygmy hedgehog. Not an impulse buy I've been thinking about it for about 6 months but thought best to get it at the beginning of a new year. I'm living with 5 other guys, lovely and responsible which should be a good environment for our fellow hedgehog. However a few play guitar and I have read that Pygmy hedgehogs (I'm planning on getting an African Pygmy hedgehog) are very sensitive to sound and of course sleep during the day. They also enjoy playing music, not excessively or too loud but potentially disturbing for the hedgehog? Would this be a cruel environment or would the hedgehog become accustomed to it? Also how 'smelly' can a hedgehog be if cleaned regularly and cage cleaned daily?
Thanking you all in advance for your help :)
Dan

·
Registered
677 Posts
Hedgehogs don't necessarily need quiet environments unless it's a rescue situation in which noise stresses them out. Otherwise, they adapt pretty well to the daily sounds of their home. Fitzgerald's hutch is located in what is probably the noisiest place in the house: the play "room." The main floor of our home is an open, L-shaped floor plan. The long part of the "L" is the kitchen (noises: dishwasher, me cooking 2-3 meals a day), dining area (daily piano practice for me, daily piano cacophony from the 2 year old), and living room (is there ever a time the TV isn't on?), and the short side is the play room (a 2 year old, a 6 year old, and a mini Toys R Us...enough said). There is always something going on within earshot of his cage, and he's completely fine. After the first couple of days, he wouldn't even flinch when a screeching match over a particular train erupted a foot from his hutch door.