Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I have been doing research for months about hedgehogs and I believe that it may actually be time for me to get one. I've been to pet stores and played with them and the petstores near me seem to be very noligable (were/are hedgehog owners) and really take good care of their hedgehogs. Anywho I believe I may have found the hedgehog for me yesturday when I visited. He was so cute. :D And he was friendly and didn't hiss or act scared in anyway while I was handling him. As a veterinary student I realize that spur of the moment pet purchases are not a good idea, so I have decided to wait and make sure I know everything about these cute little creatures. Anywho right now I am looking for some advice from the real owners out there about how to properly take care of a hedgie. Like what you think the best food is, what size cage is the best, what types of toys? More importanly I would like to know the real pros and cons of owning a hedgehog. From my research I really cannot see any cons except the cage cleaning, which really is not anything. On that note what is the best bedding? What time does your hedgie normally wake up/go to bed? How much play time does a hedgie need? I just want my little hedgie to have the best life and I like to do a lot of research before I start anything. Thank you guys for any help and I hope this is not too annoying. :mrgreen:

Jessica

·
Registered
5,136 Posts
Welcome to HHC! :)

You can find the answers to nearly all your questions if you look at the stickies and do a search. We also have our old forum archives to look through. Good luck!

·
Administrator
3,594 Posts