Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I got a Hedgehog for someone that did not want it anymore... I feed him/her with 15 mealworms everyday and 2-4 crickets. My question is.. can I give him/her Roaches? (Dubias for example). Also, how much mealies are too much? The hedgies eats them right away and still looks for more, yesterday I gave him/her around 20, all of them gone in seconds.. but still looks for more. I have been reading a lot since I got it. they give him/her 12 mealies daily.. Some webs I found said only 3-5 o_O.. the I found this site and decide to join and learn from experienced owners. Im not sure if its Fem or Male... She still afraid of me either because she/he is not use to b handled or because Im new in her/his life..

Thanks in advance to all the answers =)

·
Registered
2,716 Posts
I think I remember hearing that a few members on here do give Roaches to eat so I think that they would be okay as long as they were farm raised and not from outside :) For the amount of mealies its hard to say because some give 2-4 as a snack but I have noticed that mine tends to me more active on nights that he receives more insects. I think the biggest thing is if the hedgie tends to be overweight a lot of mealies can add to the problem. I think there are some that do give more insects and approach them more as a supplement to their diet instead of a snack so hopefully there will be more opinions. I'm still looking into this myself but don't have near the hedgie experience others on here have so I'd wait to be sure. I give between 5-10 a night along with his normal food :)

·
Registered
5,136 Posts
What are you feeding in addition to the insects? Do you know how much the hedgie weighs? (you can use a kitchen/postal scale)