Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

So I have been stalking this site for a couple of months now first to get more information to see if hedgehogs and I were a good fit and then later to prepare for my new baby Tama. I got her this past Saturday and I have a few concerns and mostly am just looking for opinions or ways I can do things better.

At this point I have her cage set up with water bowl and water bottle in one corner of the cage and on the other side of the cage (diagonally) I have her kibble bowl. Is this too far? I read somewhere that they are not likely to do their bathroom business where the food is kept and I wanted to make sure that she wouldn't burrow under the liner. The other corners are have a giant ferret corner litter box and her igloo.

That leads to the next question. I know she is still settling down but she eats very little (have yet to actually count, will do that tonight) but I know she drinks the water b/c I replace it every day when I get home from work b4 she wakes up and there are little crumbs in the water. In the morning when I go to check on her, her wheel has only a few poops (maybe 3-5) but there is a urine stain on the paper towels under the wheel.

I gave her a mini bath yesterday b/c of the trip home she had urine/vomit/poop all over herself and was smelling very badly and also she has been losing a lot of quills here and there. I did not do the whole soap issue but did put oatmeal in the bath and did some flaxseed oil for the rinse to help with the quilling. She did not soil the bath water :D but she pooped right on the first drying towel I had for her... :roll: but as I was cleaning up the supplies I took a closer look at the poop... it was brown but as I opened it up a bit (trying to wipe it off) it was a bit green on the inside and was very stringy/fibrous... is that normal? is this still part of the dreaded green slimy poop? Did I rush her too much?