Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, to introduce myself. My name is Andrea and I'm a student majoring in Animal Science with my focus on animal behavior and wellbeing. I currently own a small zoo of three dogs (and a foster), two ferrets, two guinea pigs, a dwarf hamster, and a ****atiel that hates me. There is also a cat that is graciously allowing me to stay in her house. :roll: I've been contemplating adding to the zoo for awhile now, but my main interest is/was rats (love the little boogers...have always wanted some) and as long as I am living underneath my mom's roof there is no way in **** I will ever be able to get any. I also had my eye on STOs, but finding one is proving very, very difficult - I don't want to ship and I would like to meet one in person before I jump right in to ownership.

I don't know what I was doing this morning, but somehow I stumbled across a few pictures of hedgehogs. They were just way too cute for their own good, so I started trying to find more information. In my browsing, I found this site and, well, here I am!

I think I've read a dozen webpages dedicated to Hedgehogs and their care and I think have the gist of what they are like. However, there are a few things I'd like cleared up by first hand experience.

1. How much interaction will a Hedgehog need? I know that daily handling is required to keep them tame, but do they need a lot of stimulation/out of cage time? Floor time is pretty booked between the rotation of the ferrets and the piggies, but I can offer plenty of handling.

2. Exactly how big do they get? I've honestly never met one in person, although I have seen some in at petstores (thus, they were probably not full grown). Smaller than a guinea pig? About the same size?