Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got Phoebe 2 days ago and am so excited! I'm just a little worried because she never comes out of her cove until late at night and jumps whenever there's a sound. She also doesn't come out when anyone's around... just snoozes away in her little corner. She sleeps a heckload too. I've been trying to wake her up every evening to run around and play but after a while she just hides and goes to sleep again. She squirms a lot too whenever i try to hold her. Temperature here is not a problem because im living in malaysia and it's always warm. She's pretty young.. about 2 months. Is this 'over-sleeping' normal? Should i leave her alone for a few days? What can i do to make her more comfortable?

Gosh this is my first time and im pretty nervous :oops: Just want the best for my hedgie! :D

·
Registered
69 Posts
Young hedgies tend to sleep A LOT.

As for the jumping, please remember that you just took her away from everything she has ever known such as her mom, her previous handler, previous cage, smells, water and so on. She is going to need time to adjust to you. Patience is key :) over time you will be her everything as long as you provide properly :)

Good luck with the new hedgie!

·
Registered
84 Posts
Lol mine used to sleep a lot too, I would take him out to play and he would explore for a bit then curl up and fall asleep:) He never used to come out of hiding when we were around but slowly I started noticing signs that he had come out to eat during the day or I would hear him crunching on his kibble but when I approached the cage he would bolt for his igloo lol. I've had him for about a month now and he is much more comfortable venturing out when we are around and he doesn't run when I walk up to the cage I think he just needed some time to get used to all the sounds and smells on his new home.

·
Registered
183 Posts