Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!
Im a newbie at taking care of hedgehogs.
Ive had my hedgehogs for almost 2 months now.
I have one female and one male.
Theyve only been together once.
And now, my female, Pichi, unexpectedly gave birth and i dont
know what to do. :(
She never had a PVC pipe/igloo because I usually
give her paperbags.
Now that she's given birth. I dont know if I should still
put paperbags in her cage or just leave her be.

Also, I can see that there's one dead baby inside.
Should i remove it?
Oh and I think she also rejected one baby because she left it in
the far corner opposite to where she is.
Should i pick the baby up?

I really need your help.:( i dont want to be a bad owner. </3

·
Registered
179 Posts
Okay so make sure mommy has enough food and water, don't remove the dead baby yet, hedgehogs will often take care of that themselves
and scoop the baby that seems to be rejected back to her nest. However it may be cold which may cause her to reject it again
don't disturb anything in the cage and leave her in peace, there are lots of these types of posts in the breeders and baby section on the forum which will cover you for pretty much every type of emergency there is, so go through them.

·
Premium Member
11,963 Posts
Here's the emergency baby thread - http://www.hedgehogcentral.com/forums/24-breeding-babies-help/6160-emergency-baby-advice.html

Other than that, I don't want to say much more since I'm not a breeder. You should only take advice from experienced breeders at this point. I'll message a couple of our main breeders on the forum & see if that gets them over here sooner to help you out.