Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just adopted a 10 month old female hedgehog who is completely blind, I have had an albino male hedgehog who is about 3 years old. Would she possibly mate with him? Or would she be too scared. Poor thing is so scared cause she doesn't know what to think. I don't want to breed her if it would be a bad idea, I'm new to the hedgehog game. I just need a little help is all. By the way his name is sonic and her name is Amy! Ironically she was named Amy before I got her and I had already named mine sonic when I first got him a couple months ago lol. :)

·
Premium Member
11,963 Posts
Also, keep in mind that since it'd be a bad idea to breed her, you'll want to keep them separated at all times - they shouldn't be out of the cage together at all, even just for a minute. They can mate very quickly, so better safe than sorry. Cages should be secure & escape-proof as well. An accidental pregnancy after she turns 1 year old could be very dangerous and possibly fatal for her.

I hope she settles in soon with you!

·
Registered
164 Posts