Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I am new to the hedgie world. I have not bought my hedgehog yet but I am very soon. Before I do I want to make sure I have everything ready. The only thing I am concerned about is his cage. Now I have read from a lot of people that aquarium tanks are not to good due to poor ventilation but they are good to block out drafts. So I was thinking of getting my hedgehog a cage like this...

http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.j ... Id=2753290

...but I am worried about drafts. There is really no place where I can put it so that there is no draft. I am going to get a CHE to keep it warm but will that be enough even if there is a draft or should I head more toward the aquarium.

·
Registered
181 Posts
I have had the same cage for Chloe. I go between it and and a C&C cage.

If you have fleece liners drafts are not too much of a problem as the base is so deep it blocks the draft from directly blowing on your hedgie. If chloe stands on her hind legs she can just reach the top of the purple tray. I too have a heat lamp set up, A bucket wheel, a large bedding area, a hiding hut and toys. It has enough room depending on what you have to put in there

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Okay thanks so much!! I think I am going to get that cage instead then!! Im buying my hedgehog about the same stuff I am going to get fleece liners, igloo, a bucket wheel, food and drink bowls and toys. and I think Im going to put a liter tray too probably under the wheel. So I think I should have enough room. Do you think the CHE is best in a corner or in the center of the cage?

·
Registered
466 Posts
I have the Super Pet cage you posted the link to. I have a 150 watt CHE that I put on top of the cage right in the middle. It seems to do the trick just fine. :)

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

·
Registered
181 Posts