Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am BRAND new to the hedgehog work. I just got my first hedgehog yesterday. So... he wont let me pick him up, if i pick him up he curls up, quills,hisses and, pops... The breeder i got him from said he is the largest in his litter and he is super shy... How do I get him to be comfortable with me? I already did the shirt and I held him in the morning and I just got done holding him now....

Please help... I know I made a mess of this but I have noo idea what else to do...

·
Registered
498 Posts
Hedgehogs are notorious for taking a very long time to get used to people. You may not see your hedgehog come around for weeks or even months. Just keep doing what you're doing and be patient.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I let him sit on my lap in a towel (smells like me) and i just talk to him and pet him. He is now opening his head up faster after i stop petting him... it just kills me

·
Registered
1,551 Posts
Don't panic! I promise he's just being a hedgehog. You really just need to give him time. You've only had him for a day. Getting him to know and trust you could take weeks, months or even longer.

The only thing you can do is make sure you take him out every single day and have him with you for at least 30 minutes. Longer is better though. If you're having a hard time picking him up, use a fleece blanket to protect your hands, plop him in your lap and cover him up with the blanket. After that just wait. He may sleep on you, and that's fine. He may decide to get up and explore after a bit. That's fine too. Either way he's getting used to you. Just be patient with him. This isn't a fast process and he's just had his whole world turned upside down. He'll come around. It may help a little to dim the lights in the room and have something in the background going like the tv.

Good luck! If you have more questions just ask :)

·
Registered
5 Posts