Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My hedgie was eating her treats and a superworm bit her in the mouth. She squealed and spit it out then her mouth swelled up and it looks infected. We only have two exotic pet doctors in the area and neither can see her for a couple weeks. It’s crazy that I can’t get vet help and none of the emergency hospitals will care for her. What to do? She’s getting weaker and weaker by the day. She not eating.

·
Registered
110 Posts
How long ago did this happen? I would do all you can to get her into a vet. In the meantime, if she's not eating, you'll need to syringe feed her. However, I'm not an expert on syringe feeding. I believe you can use wet cat food and meat baby foods, but I would look it up some more because I'm not sure how much to give or how often.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How long ago did this happen? I would do all you can to get her into a vet. In the meantime, if she's not eating, you'll need to syringe feed her. However, I'm not an expert on syringe feeding. I believe you can use wet cat food and meat baby foods, but I would look it up some more because I'm not sure how much to give or how often.
It happened a couple of days ago. I tried to get her to a vet but no one would see her. I have an appointment for two weeks from now but I’m worried that she won’t make it that long.

·
Registered
Holly is 3 years old. Super cuddly and loving.
2,144 Posts
Small animal vets can help sometimes if they are willing, if its just infected and just need antibiotics.

You can also call your exotic vet up that you have an appoitment with and say that you think she has an infection, and she is getting weak very fast from this and she needs to be seen asap.

Is she still eating and drinking?

Also after this she may not eat superworms for a while. Or at all, just so you are prepared for it incase that happens. She may still eat them after!

·
Registered
6 Posts