Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I've had my hedgehog, Zuko, for a year now! I do my best to make sure he has food and water, and a relatively clean wheel, but I find that it is extremely difficult to clean his wheel thoroughly every day, or even every other day.

I'm a college student and I also have ADHD/depression. Because of this, I have trouble getting my day organized, doing simple activities and tasks, especially chores. I try to wipe away excess poop/pee from his wheel daily, but the wheel definitely has lots of junk on it. I try to clean it thoroughly once a week, but I also have major sensory issues and there are times where I absolutely cannot bear the smell. I keep a Fresh Wave deodorizer near the cage that helps a lot, but its usually not enough. I use fleece blankets in his cage, on top of puppy pads. His nails don't get caught in the fleece that I give him and he does not tear up the pads, so that's what's worked for us. I'm allergic to shavings.

I want to be a good hedgehog parent, and I want my baby to be healthy and happy but I am so worried that I can't do enough. I used to take Viibryd 20mg for depression, but it ended up not working well for me, and I recently started taking Wellbutrin XL. I hope that this will help my motivation levels.

I know that making a schedule and to-do list often works for people with ADHD, but thanks to my depression, even doing that is hard because I just think, "What's the point? I'll never follow it anyway."

Basically, I'm looking for advice from fellow mentally ill hedgehog parents. How do you manage to take care of your pet?

·
Registered
2,553 Posts
First you'd want to set realistic goals for yourself.
How often are you cleaning the cage? Liners may not be a good choice for you right now.