Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!
I'm a writer for peoplepets.com, and we're running a story about pygmy hedgehogs as pets and whether this might be a growing trend in the U.S. I would love to get your input on what it's like to own and take care of a hedgehog! If you would like to be part of the story, please answer these quick questions below, preferably by Friday late afternoon. You can reply directly to this thread or email responses to [email protected] I will write back and confirm if your quotes are chosen.

It would be wonderful to have feedback from real people who are experienced in taking care of hedgehogs. Thank you so much for your help!

Pearl

Please provide your name and city when answering these questions:
1) What made you decide to get a hedgehog for a pet?
2) What has your experience been like?
3) What has been the most challenging part of owning a hedgehog?
4) What has been the best part about having a hedgehog for a pet?
5) Anything else you'd like to share (e.g. particularly funny stories, etc.)?

·
Registered
5,136 Posts
My input would first be that our pet hedgies are not pygmy. ;) They are pet African hedgehogs, Algerian and White Bellied hybrids. African pygmy is an incorrect term.

Hehe, sorry, pet peeve.

·
Registered
250 Posts
If you want to write about hedgehogs as fad pets then I suggest that you write about how deplorable it is that journalists, in order to meet a deadline or impress their supervisors, take inaccurate photos of baby hedgehogs and label them as "Hard-boiled hog: This fully-grown, yet tiny, pygmy hedgehog only comes out to play at night." They are purposefully posting images of babies labeled as adults in order to increase the wow-factor of a "pygmy" hedgehog. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1218989/24-pygmy-hedgehogs-adopted-animal-lover.html