Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all;

I need a little help. I am new to Hedgehogs but I did a TON of research. But I have a question/concern.

I just got Helga on March 7th. She is just a baby. Not sure when she was born. I have her in a cadge in the corner on my living room. I have a Heat Lamp on her cage to keep the temp at 72. But all she does in her cage is sleep in a ball. When I get her out she runs around. What am I doing so wrong for her not to play in her cage? Right now I keep the light on all day. should I not do that? Maybe should i change to a space heater and not have so much light on her?

I know the temp is about 73 in her cage but why does she not play with her balls or wheel? Just concerned I am doing something wrong with her and I don't want to hurt my baby in any way. She is so cute.

Thanks for your help

Dianna

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
You'll want to switch to a ceramic heat emitter, not a heat lamp. A CHE will not radiate light. Keep the light schedule... lights should be on for 8-10 hours a day. Hedgies are nocturnal so you won't see them running about during the day too often.

·
Premium Member
11,963 Posts
Babies sleep a lot, and will sleep for most of both day and night. :) Even when they're older, a vast majority of hedgehogs only get up and become active at night, when it's dark. So while she may run around when you have her out of her cage and away from her bed, it's perfectly normal for her to prefer to sleep when you put her back in. Do you have a wheel for her? Is she leaving any signs of use on that (poop!)? If you're not sure if she's running or not, and there's no poop, you can put a pinch of flour on it to see if it's been disturbed in the morning.