Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am new to hedgehog owning. I have done TONS of research, but as I am aware, every hog is different.
My hog is about 3 months old. She came from a breeder who said she never hissed or bit. I knew it would take time for my hog to bond with me and to become more comfortable, but I wonder if anyone can offer some insight.

Time Owned:
We've had Dr. Pickles since August 3rd, almost 4 weeks.

Living Space:
We live in a small apartment, but from what I've read, she has an adequately sized cage (14" x 42"). She doesn't have a room to herself, however, our house is pretty quiet during the day, most often. She has a wheel, which she sometimes uses*, a felt camping tent, which she primarily uses as her bed (and seems to enjoy), a log, and a food + water dish. We use a lightless heat lamp, and her temperature generally ranges from 75-80. She has a thick fleece mat that lines her cage, lots of fleece shreds, and a wee mat under her wheel.

Food:
She seems to have a healthy appetite. I feed her what was recommended by her breeder (about 2 Tbsp of a cat food blend), supplemented with mealworms as treats. Every few days, depending on her demeanor, I try other forms of treats. So far she's liked chicken breast, dandelion greens, scrambled egg, and cooked carrot. She does not seem to like duck liver (who does!), or dried beef (these are single protein dried treats). (I am fully aware of the implications of fat and sugar in their diet, and am very careful with how much I offer - we are a whole foods family, so feeding her whole foods is important to me).

Activity & Handling: