Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I am very new to the Hedgehog's word and try to sort things out. There are some souses of info saying just the opposite things...

To maintain the adequate temperature of 74-80 F I am going to use ceramic heater.
I was going to let the hedgehog to play, run around the apartment. If I do so, then the air temperature will be colder...is not it worth to have temperature jumping by several degrees, than the steady lower temperature? Also, how do they do not hibernate in pet stores (in my area they keep hedgehogs in open top aquariums)?

Thank you

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Welcome to HHC!

That's the sad part about the internet and the fact these guys have only been pets for only a few decades, care information has changed over the years and just plain wrong care that has been posted, even Vets can have the wrong information. It ends up being the duty of the owners to decide what is best for their hedgehog versus what is said on the internet, a prime example is hamster balls, many owners use them, breeder sites even promote them, but they are not recommended because hogs use the bathroom as they run and there have been many cases of foot injury due to the slits in the ball. I'll say that the Hedgehog Central Forums is probably the best place for information.