Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

This is my first time posting, but I've been using the hedgehog central webpage and forums as my main reference for Hedgehog care.

My hedgie's Quinn, and she's 1 1/2 years old. I love her, even though she is not much of a snuggler!

I'll post pictures later when I have access to them on my own computer.

I'd like some advice. Quinn's eartips are sort of crusty. From searching the forums I think it's simply a case of dry skin, which would make sense in this season. My hands are pretty dry themselves.

She doesn't scratch and her skin otherwise looks fine. I got vaseline at hand so I could treat her ears, as I've seen posted on this board, by rubbing a bit of it on the top of her ears every evening.

My main problem is getting to her ears. Quinn is accustomed to me and doesn't have any issue running around all over me, but she doesn't like being handled. I can pet her tummy sometimes, but she doesn't seem to be interested in that, and she definately doesn't let me touch her face.

So I'm wondering how other people did it. I know some hedgehogs will let themselves be handled better than Quinn, but I know she's not the only one with her kind of personality.

My best idea so far is to put her in water so she can't curl up, as I do for nail trimming. I could probably manage to get to her ears when she tries to climb up my hand to get out.

I just don't really like the idea of putting her in water every night. I don't want to risk her getting cold too much. Maybe she could be tricked by putting her in the sink without any water in it!

Any other ideas, outside of the bath trick?

·
Registered
902 Posts