Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's my original post: http://hedgehogcentral.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=7393

Well first off this is my first time owning a hedgehog ever, but I've wanted one since I was a child...blame Sonic.

Anyway, I go to meet the gentleman who was rehoming his 6 month old hedgies and he gives me the address to his place of employment. It was an auto body shop, so right away I figured the noise and odor must have been frightening to the little guys inside. He has four little ones for me to choose from and when he takes me to his office, I see this tiny 10gal aquarium with a sheet over it and 4 little guys inside, obviously not the best environment.

They were all sleeping and frankly seemed a little scared, so he tries to wake one up with a **** kitty litter scooper and rolls it over, I wanted to just punch the guy, but I told him I will handle it. Honestly, the only knowledge I have of hedgehogs are from sites like these so while I may be new to them, I know you don't handle them like that.

Anyway, he lets me look over them and to be fair, they seemed in decent condition despite the environment. Clean eyes, nose and ears, the only cause for concern was the length of their nails and they had a little poop on their bottom but overall they seemed healthy based on what I've read here. The one that stuck out right away was the smallest of the bunch, he was just so adorable and really the only one that warmed up to me in the 40 minutes I got to spend with them all, so obviously I took him home. I wish I could have taken them all to keep them in better conditions but I just couldn't afford it. The guy didn't seem like a bad person, I just think he wasn't aware of how to properly take care of hedgies.