Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi may i know how then would my hedgehog not turn into a ball everytime i try to play with him???? :( feels so jealous when i see other pet owners holding their hedgehogs....please can someone help me?

·
Registered
124 Posts
I am no expert, for I have just begun this journey, 2 months in. In my case, if I pick up Bas to play with by herself, she would be wiggling away for sure. She is content to have a blanket/sweater that she can explore while sitting on me, so I see a bulge move under the covers = playtime....I make sure I pet her during this time, so she is still in a comfort zone. Over time, while exploring, again, not playing with me, with the lights dimmed, she will now run over my feet if I am at the computer--but I leave it to her terms. I think it is a comfort zone, time, and patience. Kind of like prickly onions. It is amazing when some small gift of trust is bestowed on you. For example, you lift up a corner of a blanket, she sticks her head out and ventures out on her own. Golden baby steps. Good luck.

·
Registered
414 Posts
How long have you had him? Some hedgehogs take months to bond and come out of their shells. If you've recently gotten him (and I assume so), he's probably not used to you yet. It's basic hedgehog behavior. Try sitting by the cage and talking to him to get him used to your voice, and take a t-shirt that smells like you (check for strings first) and put it in the cage so he can get used to your scent. Also, don't use gloves to pick him up if you've been doing so.

I would recommend taking a look at this thread: http://hedgehogcentral.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=13.

Do some reading up on the forums here, because most new owner questions have been answered and you can learn a lot from looking around.

Welcome to Hedgehog Central.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·