Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all! I've had my hedgehog, Bean, for almost 4 years now, and I think he's 5-5.5 years old. He was veryyy overweight when I got him (~600g), so in 2019 I put him on a lower fat cat food to help him lose weight. Unfortunately, he lost too much weight while on this food because he also had trouble eating the pellets (even though I crushed them up) and got down to 270ish grams. According to the vet, he had mild gingivitis, so I decided to put him on a blend of two wet dog foods (Chicken Soup for the Soul Mature Chicken, Turkey & Duck recipe and Wellness Chicken & Sweet Potato formula). He's been eating this mix for probably 2ish years and got back to 350ish grams in 2020 (which is unfortunately the last time I weighed him before today--I'm a full-time college student, so my parents take care of him while I'm away at school). He's not a big fan of mealworms, so this mix is basically the only thing he eats.

I've noticed for a while that he looks a little thin, but for a long time I just attributed this to his age. However, I decided to weigh him today and it came out to only 290 g, which seems quite low... He loves his food and I think he eats a good amount, and I would say he's an on-and-off wheel runner. He's by no means skin-and-bones and has always seemed to be in good health (aside from some dry skin issues several years ago which have been resolved), but to be safe I would greatly appreciate opinions on his weight! I've attached pictures below.

Edit: Evidently I posted another thread about his weight awhile back that I just stumbled upon, and it reminded me that one vet I visited said his target weight was ~320-330g... (Weight loss... Should I be concerned?). Some members on that threat recommended testing for parasites and whatnot, but, like I said, he did eventually get back to the mid 300s after I made the switch to wet food.