Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey! This is my first post on hhs! I'm new to all things hedgehogs too! I have a 9 week old female hedgie named Millie and just yesterday when I went to pick her up I noticed her feet and hands (or paws? haha:grin:) looked really weird. I know hedgehogs get dry skin but didn't know if it was definitely dry skin for sure. I also noticed she was scratching herself a lot. I don't know if this is something important to mention but she has been loosing quills which when it first started, I assumed was quilling so im all that worried about that. I hope its nothing I should be worried about. Anyway, I researched what to do if your hedgie has dry skin and saw that flax seed oil was good but I didn't have any at the moment and couldn't really go out and buy some at the moment either so the alternative was and oatmeal bath and to rinse her with a couple of drops of olive oil. I did that and cuddled with her while she was drying up then I put her back in her bed. Today when I got home from work I went to pick her up and saw it got worse! Now her skin seems to be still dry and maybe pealing and there's red bumps or just red dots on her. At first I was like oh my gosh! It must be something worse but maybe I had to keep cuddling with her after the bath? maybe I didn't let her dry enough? But I was so worried I looked up what was wrong and saw that its either mites, dry skin or fungus. I went out to buy flax seed oil and was so worried I wanted to give her some right away and the only thing I give her during the day is some meal worms so I put one drop of the oil in one meal worm and she seemed to have either liked it or just was really hungry or just wanted to smell out the oil. To me it seemed like she just really loved the stuff. So then after that, I checked to she if she was okay and noticed her ears were dry too! So im thinking, "What is going on with her!" and looked up how to fix that and