Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I'm trying to decide between buying one hedgehog or 2-3 fancy rats. The problem is that my situation is a little... different from most people on this forum.

I'm Thomas, American, but living in Tokyo. I've been living overseas for about 9 years now, almost 10. Although, this is my first year in Japan. December is my anniversary of arrival here. It took me that long to find stable employment and a good apartment.

Speaking of apartments, this is Tokyo. So "apartment" is an exaggeration. I live in a "share house", which is basically a dormitory for adults. They take a big house, divide out the rooms and make each room like a tiny apartment. The walls are fairly soundproof though and the rooms are very spartan with no holes or anything big enough for an animal to crawl through. The heavy, soundproof door is practically air tight.

The space i have to invest for a cage is about 155x55x40cm HxWxD and that's right at the foot of my bed, because well, the bed takes about 4/5 of my floor space. Haha

I'm great at building things and I have tools, so building a multi-level cage with adequate airflow, heating and an artificial day/night cycle would be a lot of fun to make.

I've raised a colony of rats in the past, but only as feeders for my snakes. Even then, with about 20 rats living in a huge cage at the foot of my bed, I didn't have trouble sleeping. I can't imagine a hedgehog being louder than they were, although I've read that hedgehogs love their wheel. A little wheel noise at night would just add an extra challenge to the cage build though, so more fun for me.

Anyway, I just can't seem to decide. 3 rats, triple the fun? Plus, rats are super smart and social. For interacting, i think the rats win. The downside is that Japanese people still think of rats as being dirty and scary, so I'd basically need to keep them a secret from my friends and coworkers.