Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thought Bruce was a white-bellied salt and pepper but I'm not 100% sure. I thought I would ask the professionals. Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I didn't think he was Algerian because he doesn't have the cheek color. Please correct me if I am wrong.

·
Premium Member
8,950 Posts
I don't think he'es algerian. Not enough of a mask or cheek patches. I think he'es a grey but then I'm not good with colours. :lol:

·
Registered
5,136 Posts
I see cheek patches but they are faint, I am not sure if they count or not.

Inky has light cheek patches, but he is WB, so perhaps this is a WB Grey?

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
So more than likely a grey and possibly a WB....I guess it can be very hard to tell from a picture :lol:

Thanks alot for the feedback!

He is still quilling so maybe when he is done I will post more pics.

·
Registered
475 Posts
According to Bryan's Algerian color requirements:

1 Forehead Quill Banding
The long, double-banded quills on the forehead are very helpful. If there is good, clean separation between the two bands, the hedgehog is in the White-Bellied colour grouping. If there is poor separation with a fair degree of colour or muddiness between the bands, then the colour is in the Algerian grouping. I can't determine this, since I've have very few WB species. I breed for Algerian colors.

2 Skin Colour
The skin colour over the back is another excellent means of identification. If after reviewing the standardized colour guide you find that your hedgehog's quill colour fits the description given for a particular colour, but that the skin colour is darker, you are likely looking at an Algerian colour. Algerian colours have a skin colour that is a full 5 shades darker than their White-Bellied counterparts. (see skin chart) I can see dark skin on the back of his neck.

3 Mask Colour