Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is canned chicken ok to give to them?..its pre cooked and unseasoned with no oils ...
and "97%" fat free ..so it says..the other all specs seem pretty healthy..what do you guys think?...i have seen some mixed feelings about canned tuna so i thought i would ask
Amount/Serving %DV*
Total Fat 2g 3%
Sat. Fat 1g 5%
Cholest. 40mg 13%
Sodium 180mg 8%
Total Carb0g 0%
Fiber 0g 0%
Sugars 0g
Protein 12g

Vitamin A
0%
Vitamin C
0%
Calcium
0%
Iron
0%
Ingredients: WHITE CHICKEN, WATER, SEA SALT. (GLUTEN FREE.)

·
Registered
2,716 Posts
The only thing I could see that may be a problem is the sodium in it. Im not an expert on it though so Id wait til someone else comes along.

·
Registered
1,597 Posts
Hedgieonboard said:
The only thing I could see that may be a problem is the sodium in it. Im not an expert on it though so Id wait til someone else comes along.
I agree with Hedgieonboard, canned chicken is pretty salty, but I'm really no expert either. :)

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
for the record ...the 1st time i tried giving this to him was the night i posted this..and he licked it a few time but havent really seen him "eat" any...i duno if its bc he doesnt like it or not..i only had him for about a week so he's still kinda on his "eating strike" ...

·
Premium Member
11,963 Posts
If you want to offer him chicken, an easy alternative to canned chicken is to buy a bag of frozen chicken breasts, and just boil one breast at a time to keep in your fridge for treats.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
how long does a boiled chicken breast last in the fridge ?...also should chicken only be a treat? not with every meal?..if not how often should he get chicken? ..this is the only meat i tried to give him yet..

·
Premium Member
11,963 Posts