Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings,

I'll keep this short and to the point. I'm new to hedgehogs, I've had Puffers for a week and a day so far and she's been a blast. Spent a good month researching all that I could on the care and needs for her. Tonight when I took her out for playtime, she went to the bathroom right off the bat and the urine was somewhat blood colored, tinted reddish brown with a few blood spots (size of a pin) in it.

She has not acted weird, even when out tonight, she ran around for a good five minutes in her usual manor before doing her business, then afterwards wanted to go back to bed. She ate and drank her normal amount earlier, but if member serves me correctly she always went to the bathroom directly afterwards. I checked her usual spot tonight and it was dry with no poop. And when she went tonight in her pen, it seemed like it was a lot, two good size poops (nothing unsual about their looks) but did urinate a lot, kind of pee'd and poo'd twice. First pee was the tinted, second time was normal.

She came from a home that took care of her, but not the best of care. She was in her hut with no bedding except the wood bedding they had her in (I almost think it was cedar too), cage was too small, an old ferret cage, and her cat food is 'Special Kitty' which is like saw dust, will be converting her slowly to something else. Did a straight up change and she didn't like it at all.

The only main change in her life besides a new owner and a new cage (which she likes) has been a cloth liner instead of wood bedding. Is it possible for a hog to maybe 'hold it in' due to the fact what she usually went on, is no longer available?