Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So at some point in the future, when I'm moved into a place of my own and all that good stuff, I'd really like to get more into hedgehogs and possibly breeding a little bit. I've had about five years of experience with hedgies so far, and I'm fairly knowledgeable about hedgies and small animals in general. I would of course be willing to invest the time and money to ensure that all the hedgies and babies involved would be well cared for and monitored by a vet, and I would be extremely selective about the homes my babies went to. I just had a couple of questions to help me plan my possible hedgie empire :)

I've got my boy Beck right now, who has a super personality and nice conformation (pics coming soon!). He's two years old. How long is a male's fertile life? Would he still be able to sire a litter in two or three years, or should I be planning to start a new boy specifically for breeding?

I would need to get a female, and I understand that the rate of mother hogs abandoning their litters is significant. Are there any dietary or socializing practices that increase the chances of her being a good mother?
In terms of cages, I currently have two 26"X14" cages-- how bit a cage should the mum have with her babies, and how big a cage for the weaned litter as they get older? (I want to start asking for supplies for Christmas/birthdays)

What licensing would be required tp breed and sell hedgehogs to personal acquaintances and friends? I live in Ontario. Would I need to apply for any special breeder status or insurance?

And what advice would you offer, in general, to help me prepare and arm myself with the knowledge to make it a safe and enjoyable experience for everyone involved?

Thanks for your wisdom!

·
Registered
912 Posts