Hedgehog Central banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there! My hedgehog Junie, much to everyone's surprise, had babies a couple of weeks ago. They're almost four weeks old now- old enough to sex- but some I'm having trouble with, as I've never done this before. So here's my question... is this little guy a boy or a girl? I thought he was a boy up until recently. Now I'm not so sure.

·
Premium Member
8,950 Posts
Do you have any photos with that belly stretched out a bit more? I think it's a boy. There's too much skin before the bump. If he keeps curling up, put him in a clear glass pan. He'ell stand up and then you'll be able to get a better look.

·
Registered
273 Posts
id say boy, until we get a better pic,

·
Registered
273 Posts
oh yea aleshea n nancy!!!! lol :lol: do we win anythin if we get it right??? lol jk :D

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Oh, okay. For now Jilly is Melvin again! :lol: I'm going to get pictures of all the babies to clarify their sex. I don't want to mislead their soon-to-be new owners.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
We just held Melvin. He unrolled very nicely for us, and we were able to determine- gasp!- that he is most certainly a boy. That photo was misleading...

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
At this point I'm not going to post another picture. After seeing him unrolled last night, I'm 100% certain he's a boy.

·
Premium Member
8,950 Posts
If that was a girl there wouldn't be any bump visible in that position because the girl parts are under the fold of skin/quills at the bum. When you see the bump you know it's a boy. What can be difficult is when you don't see a bump. Then you don't know if it is just hiding in wrinkly baby skin, or there isn't one. :lol:

·
Registered
395 Posts
ahh okay. I've never actually held a girl, but Vex's bump is dead center between all 4 legs like an X. Good to know nancy, Thanks!

·
Registered
27 Posts