Hedgehog Central banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
It varies by college. In most colleges, I would say that pets are not allowed except fish. I go to Macalester College in Minnesota and our pet rule is "anything is that naturally caged (which is an oxymoron), less than 1 lb, small, quiet, doesn't smell..etc" and there is a list of prohibited pets [cats dogs guinea pigs ferrets mice snakes spiders] and any pets must be registered with the hall director and have roommate's consent. But that's here, I don't know about most places.

·
Registered
123 Posts
I used to be a Resident Assiatant. My University like others does not allow animals besides fish. I, however, allowed one of my residents to have a hedgehog while living on campus. I ended up being the one to take care of the hedgie not him. This is the reason animals are not allowed on campus. Neglect... And allergies.

I now have that hedgehog because he didnt want him(he thought he was a she) anymore.

Some colleges allow PETS but since you are breeding they may not allow you to house them on campus with you. Look into possibly living off campus if you are taking the hedgies to college with you.

·
Registered
32 Posts
All of the colleges in my area (missouri) have banned all animals except fish. I do know several students that have animals without their advisor's knowledge so you could try that. I wouldnt recommend that though just because if you're caught with a prohibited animal you may have to pay a heafty fine.

·
Registered
912 Posts
Policies at the college I went to changed from year to year. I'm also not sure who was in charge of setting policy - it could have been the college's policy, the Resident Director's policy, or the Resident Assistant's policy.

First year it was "no fur, no feathers," second year it was "has to live under water," and "no pets whatsoever" the third year (graduated in 3y, so there's no 4th year to report).