Nail cutting techniques :D - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Nail cutting techniques :D

Alright, i am offically the worst nail clipper ever. Of course, an EXTREAMLY squirmy baby hedgie who never goes into a ball on her own and hates being on her back doesnt help....so any suggestions of the best way to clip nails? Or does anyone have certain techniques? Thanks
Advertisement

Old 12-12-2012, 09:52 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Nail cutting techniques :D

*bump*
Old 12-15-2012, 09:01 AM   #3 (permalink)

I am no expert, but I am a parent of my dear Mary Poppins, who is now one year old. When I first received Mary as an expected Christmas gift, I was dropped into a world with a steep learning curve and a precious hedgie life the cost of failure. I posted numerous questions on this forum, and I received wonderful and clear and concise answers. I could never be concise, so bear with me.

First is the frequency of nail cutting. I do not cut Mary's nails very often. Her back nails get trimmed every three weeks and her front nails get trimmed every month.

Second, I check her feet everyday. I look at each of her nails, and I wash her feet if she has "poopy feet," which, of course, is caused by her pooping in her wheel and peeing in her wheel and running in her wheel. I wash the wheel daily, so I do not have poopy feet often.