1st time Hedge caretaker notes odds poop behavior... - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2013, 06:25 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default 1st time Hedge caretaker notes odds poop behavior...

I'm brand new to Hedges--and oh, my, are they just adorable! I agreed to watch a little hedgie boy while his college-student-parents left the dorm for winter break.

I've had Waldo for 2.5 days.

At first he was noticably freaked out--to be expected after traveling in a car, then being left in an unfamiliar house with people he didn't know. He didn't eat much the first night, nor was he active much (& I'm nocturnal so paid close attention)--even when I took him outside the cage and put him into his playpen area he only wanted to ball up under the towels I had lining the floor... He also hadn't pooped in the 24 hours he'd been here.

At any rate, I let him sleep in today and saw that he HAD gone several times inside the hedgebag I made for him, though they dwindled in size until they were nearly only pencil lead thickness. Waldo also just stood there, rapidly breathing and kind of arching his back and appearing as if he's straining to get more out. Every so often, A tiny piece kinda hangs there and he sometimes does this thing where he drags his nether-region through the bedding.

This has been going on since around 10 p.m. (~7 hrs). In between, he seems to get exhausted and has just plopped down right where he was pottying....

He also was pretty nonchalant with me when I tried handling him--not really puffing up much, and a couple times he just stood motionless on my lap--not laying down, just standing, and he started that straining thing again a few more thin poo pieces came out.