Another case of Hedgehog Peeing blood +pics - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2014, 04:35 PM   #1 (permalink)

Unhappy Another case of Hedgehog Peeing blood +pics

Hello everyone,

Info
Hedgehog: Quinn
Breed: African Pygmy Hedgehogs
Sex: Female
Spayed/neutered: No
Litter: Had 2 babies
Purchased from: Breeder (happyhedgies)
Home: Burnaby, BC, Canada

A bit about me
Quinn is my first pet and I love her. I've been poking around hedgehogcentral for over 2 years now and there is just tons of great information here. Thanks to everyone and the admins on the forum!

Two months ago symptom
About two months ago we saw some blood in Quinn's tray that we put under her wheel and we were incredibly concerned. There was only on instance of her pee and we weren't really sure if it was either from her eating some blueberries or some other food. It never happened again so we thought we were in the clear.

Panic attack last night
Yesterday night while holding Quinn she pee'd and poo'ed while I was holding her. And to make matters worse the pee was red in colour, as in she urinated blood.

This morning at 7:00am
Super worried we took her to Oak Animal Hospital and the vet to have her checked out. The vet held Quinn up via her stomach with fingers and let Quinn walk with Quinn's front two hands. The Vet said that Quinn's bladder felt abnormally solid and it should be more like a balloon. The vet then took an x-ray of Quinn, after putting very little anesthetics into her to calm her down for the x-ray. The results from the x-ray was as follows

heart: looks good
lungs: looks good
Bladder & uterus: from the x-ray it was all grey and the Vet could not tell what was going on. Also they were looking for signs of kidney stones but there was only one spec which was fairly faint.