rash on body, swollen ear with a lot of ear wax, and skin tag looking thing by his bu - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2017, 11:33 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default rash on body, swollen ear with a lot of ear wax, and skin tag looking thing by his bu

hey okay this is my first time posting on here and I decided to make an account because I've been having trouble with my hedgehog from day one

1.the first problem was that his ear is super swollen up and always has been. There is also an excessive amount of ear wax coming from that ear that dries up and sticks to his fur. I posted a picture of his ear and how much ear wax had built up after ten days because I was on a trip and couldn't clean his ear. It also bleeds sometimes too inside and now outside I guess too because theres a scab on the outside of his ear.

I have been to the vet about it and they took a sample of it and it apparently came back inconclusive.

the second time I went to the vet (for the next reason) I mentioned his ear and the vet gave me some stuff to put on his back for possible mites but it didn't seem to do anything

2. the second problem is for a little while he had this weird skin tag looking thing on his butt (check the pictures) and it would sometimes bleed which worried me because it's so close to where he poops.
That picture was from a while ago and I haven't gotten a very good look at it so I'm not certain if the skintag thing is gone but his tale doesnt stick out like it used to, it's almost as if its tucked inside his butthole?? it looks kind of sore too. I took him to the vet and they didn't do much they said they could try to remove it but didn't give me a diagnosis or anything and I couldnt get it removed because I didn't have the money to do so.