Vet said it’s either pneumonia, heart disease or the big ‘C’ - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2018, 12:43 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Vet said it’s either pneumonia, heart disease or the big ‘C’

Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting in the forums, but I’ve been an avid reader for almost two years.

Back story: In February 2017, I purchased my very first hedgehog, Herman. He has always been a spoiled hog, as he is an only child. He is housed in a glass tank, with an open top, with a ceramic heater overhead in one corner. He uses fleece liners, ceramic dishes and a nice big storm wheel. He is a picky eater and seems to only like one kind of hedgehog formulated kibble, 8 in 1 hedgehog select. He LOVES it when I soak it in water, so he gets a dry bowl and a wet bowl. He also gets clean, fresh water, twice a day. I regularly clip his claws and inspect him for ouchies. He gets foot baths when he has poop shoes, and oatmeal baths when his skin is dry.

At the beginning of Aug 2018, I noticed that Herman had stopped wheeling for an evening. I kept an eye on him, but everything else was fine. He was still eating/drinking normally, bathroom habits were healthy, still cute as ever. On the third evening of him not wheeling, I noticed him sneezing. Not a lot, but more than he usually does. I decided to keep an eye on him, and if he hadnt exercised by morning, I’d call his vet ASAP. Low and behold, morning comes and he hasn’t wheeled at all. He has taken a night or two off before, but usually never more than that. I call the vet and schedule him in for noon that same day.