Post Almost Hibernation Behavior? - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2014, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Post Almost Hibernation Behavior?

My Hedgie Quinn is about 1.5 years old right now and, of course, something happened so I'm panicking.

First of all, I live in the middle of nowhere so going to a vet isn't an easy option (I'm a student at a university) BUT I could maybe make it to a city this weekend.

So here's what happened. Last night I got out Quinn to play and she was all curled up and barely responsive. I had never even HEARD of hedgehog hibernation (bad Mom!) and we didn't have this problem last year. So I pulled her into a blankie to warm up and read forums for like three hours to ensure myself this wasn't a rare and weird disease. But now she's not wanting to eat all that much and when I can get her to munch she breathes really hard like maybe she can't get in air while she does it? She's also been licking her nose a lot. I think I'm just paranoid because of our scare yesterday because she definitely puffs up when I touch her like she used to and scratches to dig at my sheets and be her normal punk hedgie self.

Can someone please tell me if this is normal? Cannot handle my panic.
QuinnMomma is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-16-2014, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)

1. Welcome to the forum! Breathe. You'll get through this.

2. Here, have a lovely book on hedgehog care. That way you won't get taken by surprise again. (Downloadable & free.)