Hibernation or sick? - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2019, 09:43 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Hibernation or sick?

I’m pretty new to owning a hedgehog. So far she’s been fine but about two days ago she just stopping moving around much. She also didn’t eat of drink. I tried to wake her up at night but she wasn’t very responsive at all. I’ve read it could be a hibernation attempt, and I thought this could be it because there was a drop in the temps tire here recently. I have put her in a towel on a heating pad, then moved her back in her cage with a little heater turned on. She’s definitely more responsive but still won’t get up. She will only drink if I give it to her in a dropper and won’t eat. I’ve been trying to warm her for five hours. Could she be sick or does it just take a while to bring a hedgehog out of a hibernation attempt?
Basil01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-15-2019, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)

It does sound like a hibernation attempt. It can take several hours for them to recover, in which time they probably won’t eat or drink a whole lot. Do you have a ceramic heat lamp set up for your hog? It’s like a heat light except it doesn’t emit light and it’s great for warming the entire air space, whereas a heat pad only warms the bottom. This is a super simple tip for the future so as to avoid more hibernation attempts! But, as she’s still warming, keep an eye on her, and if she doesn’t respond within 24 hours, I’d recommend a vet visit.
Aj.t is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2019, 02:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ria

You should be warming her up with your body temp not a heat pad. If the heat pad warms her up too fast she can go into shock which isnt good either!

If her belly feels cold its definitely a hibernation attempt!