Deformed quills... Segmented/pinched/flat quills - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kalandra

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2019, 12:04 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Deformed quills... Segmented/pinched/flat quills

Hello all!

I've been scouring the internet for 2 months on this issue and I'm at a loss. My hedgehog seems to have segmented quills. I have attached pictures. They seem segmented or pinched and after the "squeeze" they seem to become deformed and flatish... Not cylindrical like quills should be. In addition, some of her quills seem to be simply blunted with no sharp tip. She has been losing a lot of quills lately and I thought she already went through her quilling. She is about 7ish months old. The line of quills I collected is from 2 days of fresh fleece liner. Again, I've looked at hundreds of posts here in quills, health, nutrition etc. I highly doubt its mites as her skin looks great and she doesn't itch but I suppose anything is possible.

Has anyone run into this issue or seen this somewhere before? I feed her blue buffalo indoor hairball and weight control below is guranteed analysis info:
Crude protein: 30% min
Crude fat: 10% min
Crude fiber: 9% max

First 6 ingredients: deboned chicken, chicken meal, brown rice, barley, oatmeal, pea protein

She also gets about 5 meal worms a day.
Should she have more? Less?

I can take her to a vet, I live in Phoenix Arizona but I'm concerned a vet will not be familiar with this as I havent been able to find ANY information (and I am quite a thorough researcher). I wanted to check with you all first. I can provide more pictures as well.